March 09, 2020

Tomorrow is "Big" Tuesday. What does that mean?

  • March 9th is the day that six states will be holding thier primaries for 2020. It's being dubbed "Big Tuesday" in the news and includes highly-watched states like Michigan.

  • Six states will be holding primary elections to decide who they think should become the presidential nominee. These six states are offering about a quarter of the delegates that were up for grabs on Super Tuesday.

  • This means that 352 delegates are at stake.

With multiple elections happening throughout the country, we want to make sure everyone who can participate does. 

Here are all six states that are participating and the times their polls close (bolded times are local times)

  • Michigan (polls close: 8 PM ET with some exceptions at 9 PM ET)
  • Washington (polls close: 8 PM PT / 11 PM ET)
  • Missouri (polls close: 7 PM CT / 8 PM ET)
  • Mississippi (polls close: 7 PM CT / 8 PM ET)
  • Idaho (polls close: 8 PM MST / 10 PM ET)
  • North Dakota (polls close: 7 PM CT / 8 PM ET)

Want more information? See NPR's State-By-State Guide to this Tuesday's primaries.

Want to know more about AAPI voters in each state? See our state factsheets here.

Happy voting! We hope to see you at the polls!